New Main Page Design

Messages from and Discussions about IMSLP

Moderator: kcleung

BKhon

New Main Page Design

Post by BKhon »

Apropos of the recent main page innovations, I'm sure many users have suggestions on how we may be able to improve the main page design. Please post any ideas on the this forum, and we will see how they may be implemented.
Choralia
Site Admin
notabot: 42
notabot2: Human

Re: New Main Page Design

Post by Choralia »

I'm a horrible web designer, however, when I had to decide the type of structure to be used for my websites, I opted for a "multitab" structure. My website is an example that makes use of such a concept:

http://www.choralia.net

The reason for using "multitab" rather than other structures (such as menu items on the left side bar) is that Microsoft Windows (and other window-based operating systems, I guess) provide a multitab interface for several functions (select settings, configure some features, etc.). Also, browsers like Internet Explorer or Mozilla Firefox are conceived so as to present different pages within the same browser instance, and each page can be selected by clicking a tab on the top of the window. Based on this observation, I assumed that visitors are probably more used to click tabs on the top of the page rather than other solutions, so I opted for the "multitab" structure.

Max
BKhon

Post by BKhon »

As a note: Please don't be so harsh towards other peoples efforts, designs, or ideas. Frankly, I thought the posts with respect to the category walker were incredibly (and unnecessarily) harsh.

That being said, I think the main page design in general could be improved.
Choralia wrote:I'm a horrible web designer, however, when I had to decide the type of structure to be used for my websites, I opted for a "multitab" structure. My website is an example that makes use of such a concept:

http://www.choralia.net