General help on the Wiki

Moderators: kcleung, Wiki Admins

miskopo
notabot: 42
notabot2: Human

Full Slovak localisation

Post by miskopo »

Hi!
I want to ask you guys, how can I help with Slovak (and Czech too) localization.
I found, that main page is locked and left menu is uneditable.
Is there way to edit them?
Can I also re-make graphical announcements on the main page? :idea:

Thanks for replies

Miskopo :mrgreen:
-------
Miskopo
NLewis
active poster

Re: Full Slovak localisation

Post by NLewis »

What exactly do you have in mind? You can help with translation if you want without needing the rights to edit the side bar and main page.
miskopo

Post by miskopo »

But the main page and left menu is also in english.
I want to ask, how to edit only pages for Slovakia (I've choosen language from left menu) and if there is general template, f.e. for composers, periods etc.
Sorry for my stupid questions :) , I have no big experiences with wikipedia format :|
-------
Miskopo
KGill
Copyright Reviewer

Post by KGill »

The English Main Page is protected from editing by new users, but that shouldn't stop you from creating a differently-titled Main Page in Slovak. Simply copy all the text of the English Main Page, change the URL to whatever the proper Slovak title is, and paste it in there; after that, you can just change it all into Slovak. I would hold off doing this for now, though - the Main Page is currently undergoing a complete redesign and will look very different within the near future (probably).
The left sidebar is slightly more complicated. The entire thing is controlled through the page MediaWiki:Sidebar, which requires special permissions to edit. (Each other page starting with 'MediaWiki:' requires those same permissions.) The page is structured as follows:
*section title (i.e., for each separated box)
**page that the link leads to|page with text of link