What music belongs on IMSLP?

Moderator: kcleung

Sebastian
regular poster
notabot: YES
notabot2: Bot

What music belongs on IMSLP?

Post by Sebastian »

So far IMSLP has mainly contained classical compositions written by professional musicians. Thus I tend to think of it as a classical music score library. But is that what it's intended to be?

I've noticed a few people uploading their own compositions to IMSLP lately, and I really like the idea that contemporary composers can share their music here. As a hobbyist composer I might even feel tempted to upload some of my own ("classical") compositions someday. It got me thinking, however. Are there any requirements that music submitted to IMSLP has to meet? And should there be?

Does IMSLP have a policy about this?
Lyle Neff
active poster
notabot: 42
notabot2: Human

Post by Lyle Neff »

Some people might not consider Scott Joplin to be "classical," but his works are represented here.

My understanding is that IMSLP is for any public domain music (or any music that a composer willingly makes available by Creative Commons, etc.) in sheet-music format. That can include "popular" music, fortunately.
Yagan Kiely
Site Admin

Post by Yagan Kiely »

There is no requirements (apart from PD or similar), but IMSLP has a strong, obvious, but general bias towards traditional Classical music. The reason this is, is because most contemporary or popular music is not PD. I'd personally prefer IMSLP to continue being Classically biased; but imagine in 70 years time, having Beatles or something, that would be excellent.

I'm going to upload the music for my Pieces as soon as I get them looking at least semi-publishable, so IMSLP would be very welcome to your pieces.*

*Did I word that correctly...?
Carolus
Site Admin

Post by Carolus »