Moderator: kcleung

pocoallegro
forum adept
notabot: YES
notabot2: Bot

Use of IMSLP scores in competitions

Post by pocoallegro »

Hello,

I am a vocal coach and I regularly participate in the NATS vocal competition in the USA. In this competition, the rules state that without exception the contestants must provide their accompanists with "original copies" of music to play from, i.e. published books. They recently began allowing scores marked with the CD Sheet Music logo since that was purchased by the teacher and is therefore as legitimate as a bound score.

It would obviously be wonderful to provide singers with some of the wonderful public domain vocal music available on this site for the competition, but it will be difficult for the judges to tell between a legally downloaded copy (public domain) and a xerox copy.

I bring this up mostly as a talking point. I'm not sure this has created a problem for anyone else, but it is certainly something to figure out (some kind of IMSLP watermark similar to CD Sheet Music).
daphnis
Copyright Reviewer
notabot: 42
notabot2: Human

Re: Use of IMSLP scores in competitions

Post by daphnis »

This is a good subject.
It would obviously be wonderful to provide singers with some of the wonderful public domain vocal music available on this site for the competition, but it will be difficult for the judges to tell between a legally downloaded copy (public domain) and a xerox copy
What's the difference? Public domain is public domain. Just because one pays $80 for it doesn't mean one must. For use of these scores in competition, the competitor should probably include a letter stating the status of the work in question, and if it would help and the judges would accept, I'm sure we could notarize such a note in these situations.
horndude77
active poster
notabot: YES
notabot2: Bot

Post by horndude77 »