Verdi Requiem

Reports of various issues on work pages.

Moderators: vinteuil, Leonard Vertighel, Lyle Neff, Wiki Admins

Erlkoenig
notabot: 42
notabot2: Human

Verdi Requiem

Post by Erlkoenig »

Can anyone help me to address an absurdity in the Home Page of the Verdi Requiem entry?
http://imslp.org/wiki/Requiem_(Verdi,_Giuseppe)
I am new to this, and not skilled in navigating my way round the technical requirements of Wiki editing. All I am looking for is that my concerns be addressed, and it doesn’t need to be I who does it. Here goes:–

Searching for Verdi Requiem, I am led to a Home Page featuring an incipit in musical notation. But this is no way an incipit, because it starts in bar 7, and features not a recognisable tune, but merely a choral decoration on a repeated single note, which is added to the tune on its 2nd statement in bar 6. If it weren’t for the words, no one would recognise Verdi’s Requiem from this.
Moreover a B flat has been wrongly added to the key signature.

The assumption by whoever devised this incipit appears to be that only the voice parts are important, and everything else is mere accompaniment. That may be true of pop songs, but it won’t do for IMSLP.

The true incipit is at the beginning, where the cellos introduce the theme, which is indeed instantly memorable and recognisable.

Erlkoenig.
Erlkoenig
notabot: 42
notabot2: Human

Re: Verdi Requiem

Post by Erlkoenig »

Thank you to whoever amended the erroneous incipit. It is much better now.

But still not quite right. Was the person who made the amendment a musician? If so then why, when Verdi’s tune in the cellos ended after 5 bars, did you continue with the cello line which has now become the harmonic bass while the tune itself is repeated by the violins, this time in full harmony? Or have you simply taken the mention of ‘cellos’ in my original post, and reproduced the cello line slavishly for as many bars as were empty in the former incipit before the entry of the voices?