Rules of scoring music question of a "newbie"

Moderator: kcleung

jbordxyz
notabot: 42
notabot2: Human

Rules of scoring music question of a "newbie"

Post by jbordxyz »

Hi, all, I'm a newbie to this site--just found it while I was looking for answers. From what I see so far, this is a fabulous project! So here's the question: I'm scoring an original piece of music, which really should be scored into 3 movements. But I don't know the rules for laying out the score (like does each movement have to start on a new page, do you use double bars or Final bar lines at the end of each movement...etc.) So what I need is both an answer to the immediate need, and also a way to learn the standards so that I can get this music ready for copyrighting and then publishing.
allegroamabile
active poster

Re: Rules of scoring music question of a "newbie"

Post by allegroamabile »

It depends whether each movement would have to start on a new page (answer based on score or parts) with final bars ending each movement. But with the publishing, that will be very tricky. I have known professional composers that couldn't get their works published.

What is the instrumentation?
Yagan Kiely
Site Admin
notabot: YES
notabot2: Bot

Post by Yagan Kiely »

Just letting you know, it's already copyrighted there is no specific activity to copyright it. And have you considered a CC license? It allows your work to get an audience.
jsnfmn
forum adept

Post by jsnfmn »

There are a number of books which answer your questions, and then some. Some that I would consider essential for the budding composer looking to typeset their own works and have them look professional are:

Gardner Read's Music Notation: A Manual of Modern Practice (Read was a prolific writer on the practicalities of composition, several of his other books would be worth the read as well)