Do we have any lawyers in the copyright review or IMSLP

General copyright-related issues and discussions

Moderator: Copyright Reviewers

kcleung
Copyright Reviewer

Do we have any lawyers in the copyright review or IMSLP

Post by kcleung »

Hi,

At this stage, do we have lawyers (or at least with legal qualification in any countries) in the copyright review team or in the IMSLP admin?

Should we advertise these volunteering positions in law schools? The students can claim these volunteering positions as job experience in their CVs..............

kcleung
pml
Copyright Reviewer
notabot: 42
notabot2: Human

Re: Do we have any lawyers in the copyright review or IMSLP

Post by pml »

I'm not a lawyer, and have absolutely no intention, let alone interest in becoming one. I was forced into a closer acquaintance with the insanity of international copyright law when in 2002 I edited some Schönberg (est mort, as Boulez said, all the way back in 1951). At the time I consulted some lawyers - in retrospect, admittedly none of whom had the proper depth of international copyright and IP law, in addition to specific musical knowledge of exactly "what" had been copyrighted - and got two or three different, and confusing, pieces of advice. Hence for many years I suppressed the edition. You can still see the rather strange copyright notice I posted in the score circa 2003/04, which basically stated that my work couldn't be used outside Australia.

My current belief is that the work is in the public domain in Australia, the US, and Canada, and so I decided the time was right to post it here. As far as I know the original work is copyright in the EU until 2022.