General copyright-related issues and discussions

Moderator: Copyright Reviewers

aldona
active poster
notabot: 42
notabot2: Human

Scores which I have

Post by aldona »

First of all let me say what a great job you folks at IMSLP are doing, and what a fantastic resource you are for the amateur home musician.

I'm very new to this whole public domain/ copyright business, so my apologies if this is a stupid question.

I've been fossicking through the sheet music I have lying around at home and I have found the following which may be of interest to IMSLP.

MOZART - "The Magic Flute" in Full Score. Dover publication (1985), unabridged re-publication of edition by C.F. Peters, Leipzig, no. 5714 (n.d.)

MOZART - Complete Piano Trios and Quartets and Piano Quintet. Dover publication (1991), unabridged re-publication of Series 17 from W.A. Mozart's Werke Kritisch durchgesehne Gesammtausgabe.

BRAHMS - Complete Shorter Works for Solo Piano. Dover publication (1971), unabridged re-publication of the Vienna Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde edition.

HAYDN - "The Creation" oratorio. Vocal score with piano reduction. Novello edition 8052. I have combed through it from cover to cover and cannot find a date anywhere, or any copyright notice, just a note at the end: "Published and printed in Great Britain by Novello and Company Limited, Borough Green, Sevenoaks, Kent."

The following scores I am not quite sure about copyright status:

SCHUBERT - Quartet for Flute, Guitar, Viola and Cello (D.96). Copyright 1956 by C.F. Peters Corporation, New York (Edition Peters No. 6078)

SCHUBERT - Winterreise (Winter-Journey) for Low Voice, with lyrics in German and English. Schirmer Vol. 347. It says "Copyright 1895 by G. Schirmer, Inc. Copyright renewal assigned, 1923, to G. Schirmer, Inc." but it looks like a newish reprint in good condition.